TITLE: IRS XML Stakeholder Meeting Report DATE: 22 Mar 2004

LOCATION: NCFB - MIC TIME: 1300-1500

FACILITATOR: Sol Safran (EDMO)

PURPOSE

This was a meeting of IRS XML stakeholders

ATTENDEES

Aiuvalasit, John W. 972-308-1428 John.W.Aiuvalasit@irs.gov

Ambur, Owen 202-208-5439 Owen_Ambur@ios.doi.gov

Ballester, Steve 202-283-5299 Steve.J.Ballester@irs.gov

Bolling, James 202-927-5570 James.R.Boling@irs.gov

DeCastro, Peter M. 202-883-6495 pdecastro@mitre.org

Delozier, Albina 202-622-8153 Albina.Delozier@irs.gov

Franzel, Robin 202-283-6056 Robin.E.Franzel@irs.gov

Friedland, Lee Ellen 202-841-4500 LFriedland@mitre.org

Futato, Pat 202-622-6732 Pat.A.Futato@irs.gov

Heiser, David 202-622-3412 David.W.Heiser@irs.gov

Jung, Michael 202-622-7689 Michael.G.Jung@irs.gov

Lambourne, Steve 972-308-1507 Steve.C.Lambourne@irs.gov

Levine, David 202-283-3610 David.J.Levine@irs.gov

Lou, Mark 301-731-6792 MLou@csc.com

Love, John C. 202-622-3086 John.C.Love@irs.gov

Mathews, Claude 512-460-7116 Claude.A.Mathews@irs.gov

Mayger, David W. 202-283-9198 David.W.Mayger@irs.gov

Morgan, Kathleen 703-731-6768 KMorgan24@csc.com

Ortiz, Bert 202-283-5422 Bert.Ortiz@irs.gov

Peterson, Doug 202-283-4109 Doug.E.Peterson@irs.gov

Safran, Sol 301-429-7543 SSafran@csc.com

Smoter, Susan 202-283-4881 Susan.Somter@irs.gov

MEETING SUMMARY

·1 Introductions and agenda review


·2 Overview of XML Registry Status


o The XML Registry Requirements document outline and executive summary were distributed to the group. The full document will be released to the stakeholders once internal reviews are complete.


o The three options are:

1. Use the DOD Registry

2. Acquire the DOD Registry software and customize it

3. Acquire a COTS product. And extend functionality Option 1 costs are being worked out with DOD representatives


·3 OASIS TaxXML


o The IRS participates in the OASIS Tax XML Technical Committee. This committee has a goal to reduce the taxpayer’s burden on submitting tax information to multiple countries (international standardization of a common tax vocabulary). Susan Smoter (Director Internet Development) is the co-chair.


o This committee is sponsoring a pilot program for certificates of residency which includes defining common data elements and international standards.


o EDMO briefed the TaxXML chair in February on IRS XML activities.


·4 XML Training for Project Managers (James Bolling)


o Jay Bolling presented an overview of a course developed several years ago in an effort to educate Project Managers in XML-related topics. The Media and Pubs organization that originally developed this 3-day training course is being disbanded and this course (and materials) needs a new “owner”.


o This course got high reviews from those who have taken the course.


o The course material is dated and needs to be reviewed and/or updated. The material is DTD oriented and does not address xsd.


o Anyone interested in taking over ownership of the course is asked to call Jay at 202-927-5570.


·5 Owen Ambur/ The Federal CIO Council’s XML Working Group


o Owen is the co-chair of the Federal CIO Council’s XML Working Group and the Chief XML Strategist at the Dept of the Interior.


o The Federal CIO Council’s XML Working Group was charted in 2000. It is a volunteer group that meets to discuss XML topics and government initiatives.


o XML Registry. Two pilot programs have been attempted with mixed results. The primary deficiency is the lack of robust querying and discovery functions. The two pilots were performed using DNC software which was sponsored by DLA, and Yellow Dragon software


o The DOD registry is very weak with regard to query and search capability.


o The DRM portion of the FEA is being developed. It focuses on a component-based architecture and a structure for data elements in the government.


o Promoting the development of the Business Gateway. The goal of this initiative is to reduce the burden on businesses by making it easy to find, understand, and comply (including submitting forms) with relevant laws and regulations at all levels of government.


o The OASIS electronic-Government technical committee is also attempting to pilot a registry.


o The IRS (Sol Safran EDMO) has been invited to speak at the April 21, 2004 meeting


o Comment from Sol Safran: We (EDMO) have been piloting standardized schemas using the ELDM. At the recent XML Working Group meeting, the DOI presented a similar, successful approach on one of their subject area systems.


·6 SCORM: Shareable Content Object Reference Model Initiative


o SCORM consists of three main sections: an Extensible Markup Language (XML)-based specification for representing course structures (so courses can be moved from one server/LMS to another); a set of specifications relating to the run-time environment, including an API, content-to-LMS data model, and a content launch specification; and a specification for creating meta-data records for courses, content, and raw media elements.


o SCORM has been used in IRS Learning for the past 18 months. This project has had a positive experience using SCORM. The only drawback being the lack of vendor-usage (tagging) for vendor supplied training materials.


o There was interest expressed in sharing the IRS SCORM experiences with the Federal CIO Council’s XML Working Group.


o Claude Mathews will follow-up with Owen for further discussion and possible presentation to Federal CIO Council’s XML Working Group


·7 Namespace Working Group


o A namespace working group will be convened to participate in the policy and decision making process for defining XML Namespaces within the IRS. The Stakeholders will discuss XML Namespace related topics, analyze the alternatives and make decisions/recommendations.


o A new namespace standard may well impact existing XML work, and will be a consideration by the group as part of its recommendation


o Invitations and read-ahead materials will be sent to working group participants.


o Additional volunteers are encouraged to participate. Participants so far: Shan Wei Wang (CADE), Joan Barr (ETA), Thelma McConkey (ETA), David Levine (MITS) Claude Mathews (Web Int Tech Services).


·8 XML Survey


o A survey will be sent to IRS stakeholders in an effort to identify all XML-initiatives and taxonomy initiatives throughout the IRS.


o The survey will be conducted as part of the namespace working group.


o A suggestion was made to also survey through the executive level. While we may do that, we will continue with a bottom-up survey.


·9 Taxonomies


o The IRS has several legacy taxonomies and several more are being developed today.


o Lee Ellen Friedland (MITRE) spoke about the taxonomy developed by the Public Portal Branch and sponsored by IRS.Gov (under Susan Smoter). This effort had an enterprise perspective.


o The taxonomy will require re-work once it is distributed to other organizations.


o Lee Ellen suggested that EDMO take the lead in coordinating and managing taxonomy development at the IRS. There has been no prior discussion about this with EDMO, and EDMO management will need to be consulted to make a decision. They may require additional information about the project, such as its products, deliverables, projected follow-on work and coordination requirements.


o After some consideration, Sol believes that EDMO may more appropriately be the technical owner. If true then, an appropriate functional owner will still need to be identified. EDMO will make the final decision.